Waiting

Waiting on the World to Change.

If you haven’t heard this John Mayer tune, you need to.  The video, from youtube is below.

I gave the CD from which the song originated, Continuum, to my daughter, Sarah, last Christmas.  I hadn’t heard it, but after listening to it with her, it was “ripped” to my iTunes directory for my listening pleasure.

Listening to the first song, Waiting for the World to Change, reminds me of words I would have used 40 years ago.  Those same words also bring tears to my eyes, as I see the dreams of my children.  I can’t help but see my daughter, Sarah, and feel hopeful, when I hear this verse of the song.

One day our generation
Is gonna rule the population
So we keep on waiting (waiting)
Waiting on the world to change

3 responses to “Waiting

  1. I’ve had it on my iPod for a while. It’s in my “politics” playlist, along with “Dear Mr. President,” by Pink, and “Let’s Impeach the President” by Neil Young. I am looking forward to more uplifting songs for the category.

    Happy New Year!

  2. I am hopelessly falling behind on popular music and modern technology (at least where music is concerned).

  3. Just popping in to say hi. Hope your new year’s off to a great start. I like Mayer’s tune. I remember the first time I heard it, driving to New Orleans. It has the sound and rhythm of a Motown hit.

Leave a Reply

