The Middle of Football Season

It’s the middle of football season and I’ve yet to make a comment about my favorite teams. The West Virginia University Mountaineers are faring quite well. Undefeated this season and rated as high as #3 in some of the polls. And of course, growing up near Pittsburgh, my blood runs black and gold for the Pittsburgh Steelers. Or The Stillers as they’re known around The ‘Burgh.

  • There’s a rapper out of Morgantown, WV called 6’6 240 who has put together a rap called The Gold and the Blue. Have fun with this one!
  • Where does a Steelers fan go to watch the Black and Gold play in the heart of Cincinnati Bengals country? There just happens to be a place called Martino’s on Vine that is packed with people wearing Steelers colors for every game. The food is much better than your average bar food and they have IC Lite on Tap and Iron City in the aluminum “bottle”.

On a bittersweet note, my father died last December. The last time I was with him we were watching the Steelers play the Bengals last November. I left Steubenville at half-time to return to Cincinnati.

I miss talking to him on the phone about how our favorite teams fared from week to week. He was always going on about how “the Mountaineers could never win The Big One”. I held his memory close last New Year’s as The Mountaineers beat Georgia in the Sugar Bowl and then, weeks later, the Steelers won the Super Bowl.

I miss you, Dad!

One response to “The Middle of Football Season

  1. Hmmm… this supports my theory. My Dad died in July of 1995, after which the Braves won their only World Series Championship. While I so missed watching the games with him (he lived with us), I felt that perhaps he had something to do with the ultimate outcome. πŸ˜‰

    I wandered over here by way of Paula’s. Nice blog. I grew up in Huntinton, WV. I still root for the Mountaineers from time to time but was always more of a Marshall fan. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

