The Pride of West Virginia

I grew up in West Virginia, living in Wellsburg for the first ten years of my life. Then my family decided to move to “the big city”, moving across the Ohio River to Steubenville, Ohio. Like many natives of The Mountain State, no matter where we now live, it is still home.

My undergraduate degree, a BA in Political Science was from the University of Cincinnati, a terrible place to go to college. I went to West Virginia University for graduate school, where the tuition for West Virginia residents in 1975 was the huge sum of $200. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at WVU, living in a trailer in Morgantown, West Virginia, where I received excellent training, a great education, and an MA in Counseling and Guidance. When I graduated, my father proudly reminded me that I was the first in my family to graduate from WVU, although my father, his brothers, my sister, and others had attended there for some time.

I am a proud alumnus of WVU, supporting the University through donations and my activity in the Cincinnati-Dayton Chapter of WVU Alumni Association. My father taught me the WVU Fight Song was I was about 4 years old, and we’ve sung it at many a basketball and football game.

They call the WVU Marching Band “The Pride of West Virginia” and they are truly an outfit to make the good people of the state proud. Take a look at the video to watch their traditional playing of “Country Roads.” For many, it brings a proud tear to our eyes.

 

Let’s Goooooooooo Mountaineers

3 responses to “The Pride of West Virginia

  1. I loved my years as a West Virginian. It’s where I grew up. My mother and step-father moved us to Huntington when I was in the 6th grade and they moved away when I went off to college. I graduated from Huntington High, class of ’71. Many of my friends went to WVU (one is a very active alum – I’m betting you’ve crossed paths), but more went to Marshall. “Country Roads” always brings a tear to my eye. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Steel Valley, Football, and The Mountaineers « Notes From Neal

  3. Woo hoo! I was in that band for 4 years! It was such a blast!

Leave a Reply

