Burying Our Dead

I just finished listening to an NPR podcast about “the ritual of burying our war dead”.  As more soldiers are slain in Iraq and Afghanistan, people are “growing accustomed” to this slaughter.  The podcast talks about the ceremony in San Antonio, Texas where the community has lost 25 of its own.

How long are we parents going to tolerate burying our sons and daughters so that we can “stay the course” in Iraq?  How can we ever grow accustomed to burying our own children, who had their whole live ahead of them?

4 responses to “Burying Our Dead

  1. me again - thots ramblin'

    I dunno, I wont touch this one with a ten foot pole, too political. Maybe morals should take the frontline.

    Today, a busload of young men from Ohio were involved in a serious accident in Atlanta. A baseball team from Ohio traveling to Forida. Very tragic, it just pulls at your heartstrings.

    I guess the reason I mention this is because of the way the news covers it and the way the public receives it. It is so devastating to think this has happened and we all want to pour out our hearts and prayers – as it should be.

    The point is this. This sort of travesty is happening day after day in our ‘fight for peace’. We have become numb and accustomed to hearing the news of soldiers’lives lost.

    I don’t have nor do I pretend to have the answer to such a political question.

    war for peace is kinda like screwing for virginity—it makes no sense

    still, if someone came into my home and posed a threat, I would defend

    The debate runs strong on both sides.

    I think I will just have to take a moral stand and leave the final chapter to our Maker.

    No one wins a war

  2. “No one wins a war”

    Truer words have never been spoken.

    It is very easy to become numb to the harsh realities of body counts and body bags in war. I don’t know how else we could do it, when we see the dead bodies and get the body counts daily, and have since the Vietnam War.

  3. But we’ve got to fight them over there so that we don’t have to fight them here, right?

  4. The logic of having to fight them “over there so we don’t have to fight them here” sounds way to much like the Domino Theory of the Vietnam era. We can see how logical that “theory” was.

    I don’t buy it at all. Not at all.

Leave a Reply

