Humvee

Occasionally I drive my daughter to school in the morning. On my return, in front of me at the traffic light was this huge Humvee. There are several of those humongous vehicles out here in the suburbs of Cincinnati and they get me to wondering.

Why in the world would anyone want a gas guzzling, wallet emptying monster truck to navigate the wilds of suburban Cincinnati? I suppose it’s a tough trek down that long smoothly paved driveway to the shopping mall or latest and greatest new theme restaurant. Or maybe such a mighty vehicle is required to haul the designer dog to the veterinarian or that flat of flowers from the hardware store. Or just maybe, it’s just a tough world out there and a strong tough ride like a Humvee is just the thing.

When my father was alive, we’d be out driving somewhere and he’d spot one of these monsters. Being an Army vet, he’d just shake his head, wondering “why in the world would someone want to drive a jeep?”

6 responses to “Humvee

  1. Status. Status as what, I have no idea.

  2. I don’t get the “status” either, Paula. The term “conspicuous consumption” comes to mind.

    It’s ironic, after writing this post, I was behind a bright yellow Humvee, one of the biggest I’ve ever seen. This one lives in our neighborhood and the driver is this blonde woman wearing silver sun glasses.

    All I can do is shake my head and laugh.

  3. I hate those things — I pretty much hate SUVs in general.

    I’m guessing it’s a matter of the larger the vehicle, the smaller the penis.

  4. when my life gets so uncomplicated to be concerned with such silliness, I might have an opinion. meanwhile, the author so often concentrates on being liberal, and the right to choose, etc. who cares what someone else drives so long as they are law abiding and considerate of those with whom they share the road? some people just like their toys and it is as simple as that!

  5. Pingback: Selling Cars « Notes From Neal

  6. Pingback: Having It All « Notes From Neal

Leave a Reply

