A Little Perspective

My friend Mike has a rather serious form of cancer for which he is now taking chemotherapy at a local hospital. His wife tells me this strong and good man is severely weakened from the treatment, not able to do much more than sleep.

My challenge of finding a way to pay for my son’s college pales in comparison to the struggle Mike faces. His is a struggle to live.

Having a little perspective often makes it easier to see things, and often more clearly. For all of us, each day is a gift. Keeping that in mind, my issues and challenges take on a different level of importance.

I’m reminded of the words from a song I heard last week when our choir, Voices of Freedom sang at a funeral for a community leader:

“Each day is a gift and I praise the lord”

The word is gratitude.

Leave a Reply

