My Derby Dilemma

Quite awhile back, I mentioned that I’m a contestant in the Road to the Roses fantasy game. The game, sponsored by Churchill Downs, started back in January and ends after the Kentucky Derby on Saturday. Basically, the contestants picked a stable of Derby nominated three year-olds and “entered” them in a series of prep races throughout the three year-old season. My stable, Top Down Stables, got points for each horse that “hit the board” (first, second, or third) in each of the prep races.

As it stands now, Top Down Stables is ranked 797 out of over 20,000 players, my best ever. And now we come down to the final race of the contest. The big one! The Kentucky Derby!

So here’s the thing. My stable is allowed to “enter” 5 of my 15 horses for the big race. But out of those 15, it’s very likely that 8 will be in the post parade as they sing “My Old Kentucky Home.” Here’s my stable, with post position and morning line odds:

2. Curlin / 7-2
3. Zanjero / 30-1
7. Street Sense / 4-1
8. Hard Spun /15-1
12. Nobiz Like Shobiz / 8-1
16. Circular Quay /  8-1
18. Any Given Saturday / 12-1
20. Great Hunter / 15-1

Eight Derby starters in my stable, and I can only use 5.  What I’m hoping for is big points by having all three from Top Down Stables hit the board.  It’s gonna take some deliberating to pick the three most unlikely to get me points.  In a race that’s loaded with good contenders.

That’s my dilemma.  Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

