Derby Picks — Version 1.0

I used to play a pinball machine called Eight Ball Deluxe. Once you fed your quarters into the machine and started the game, you heard “stop talking and start chalking”. As we close in on 6:08pm on the First Saturday in May, it is time to stop talking and start chalking, or in this case start picking.

Out of my stable of eight Derby entrants in the Road to the Roses fantasy game that I mentioned yesterday, I must activate five (and only 5) for scoring in the Kentucky Derby. So, without further ado, here they are.

  1. Curlin. Has done nothing wrong in his three races. Has won by large margins and was visually impressive in the Arkansas Derby. The knock on him is that he never raced at 2, and no horse has ever won the Derby without a two year-old race.
  2. Great Hunter. I’ve liked this guy from the beginning. Had a tough trip in the Bluegrass Stakes at Keeneland.
  3. Hard Spun. Easily won the Lane’s End Stakes at Turfway Park against weaker. Had a bullet work at Churchill on April 30 and is said to be in great shape.
  4. Nobiz Like Shobiz. Nice win in the Wood Memorial at Aqueduct.
  5. Street Sense. How can you knock the winner of the Breeders Cup Juvenile last fall over this same Churchill Downs track last fall?

The contest closes at noon on Derby Day, so my list might change in the next 26 hours if I continue to overthink what is often a chaotic and difficult race to figure.

Disclaimer: The horses mentioned above are not necessarily my Kentucky Derby selections. My wagering choices are likely very different as I’m interested in some horses not in my stable. Should any reader and/or potential reader of the blog and/or feed of this blog use my selections for the personal wagering selections, well then, I am not responsible nor liable for any losses incurred.

Leave a Reply

