Derby Picks — Version 2

It’s almost 1pm on the First Saturday in May and the horses will reach the starting gate in less than 5 hours.  I’m getting my chores completed, including my traditional Removal of the Pool Cover done annually no later than Derby Day.  As the afternoon wears on, I’m sure I’ll be pulling out a Churchill Downs program and looking over the excellent early races this Derby Day.

Enough talk.  Let’s get it down to three horses that I believe will hit the board in the 10th race this afternoon at Churchill Downs.  I’m not sure exactly how I’ll be betting, I’ll wait till the singing of “My Old Kentucky Home” before making final wagers.

My picks, not in order:

  1. Curlin.  This guy is truly talented and fast.  This is his chance to prove himself and the naysayers claiming he has too little experience.
  2. Street Sense.  Winner of the Breeders Cup Juvenile who may prove that the winner of that race can win The Derby.
  3. Great Hunter.  This California invader had done it all this year.  His challenge will be that he comes from the 20 hole, far outside as they stampede to the first turn.  Hopefully his rider will give him all the chance he needs.

My wish and prayer for both riders and horses is a safe trip and that all come back healthy.

Leave a Reply

