A Father’s Pride

Last night at the Senior Awards Night at Anderson High School, where my children attend, over 100 members of the Class of 2007 received scholarships and recognition for their academic accomplishments. As the last award of the evening, my son, Josh, received the honor of Valedictorian of the Anderson High Class of 2007. This special honor is given to the student with the highest grade point average in his class.

It is very easy to take for granted the excellent grades, when I live with a boy as intellectually gifted as my son. His accomplishment only serves to recognize the hours of study, even for someone as bright as Josh, the pages of reading, the interminable term papers, and answer after answer on all those tests and quizzes given by his teachers.

One night at dinner we were discussing the possibility of him being named Valedictorian.  His comment, age appropriate, of course:  “…and three days after graduation, who will remember who the Valedictorian was anyhow?”

He will.  His family will.  I’ll never forget.

I am proud of my son, Josh! Proud of the gifts he has been given and chosen to use so well. Proud of the kind, considerate, and gentle young man he is becoming.

Next Sunday, as Josh walks across the stage at Commencement, I’m sure there will be tears in my eyes and a smile on my face as he receives his diploma. That boy will soar!

5 responses to “A Father’s Pride

  1. Bravo for Josh! That’s a great accomplishment!

  2. Congratulations to Josh!

  3. Hi,

    My name is Dave Rackowitz. I graduated from Neosho High School in 1957. I found your message while I was searching for some information about Camp Crowder. I’m not sure what the connection was to your message.

    You and your son should be very, very proud of his accomplishments. I graduated from HS in 1957 and I remember who the valedictorian and Salutatorian were at our HS in 1957. I think that I could have been one of those if I had put more effort into my classes.
    Our class leaders have been very successful in their lives. I’m sure that your son will be too.
    CONGRATULATIONS to both of you.

  4. Pingback: Suds « Notes From Neal

  5. It’s Michelle. Grandpa, when did you say you graduated from high school? Was is 1957? Was is Neosho? Josh doesn’t care when you graduated.

Leave a Reply

