Dan Fogelberg

Yesterday, songwriter and musician, Dan Fogelberg died of prostate cancer at the young age of 56. He collaborated with flutist Tim Weisburg to create one of my favorite albums, Twin Sons of Different Mothers. His song, Run for the Roses, about The Kentucky Derby often brought tears to my eyes, especially as The First Saturday in May approached.

His death from prostate cancer is a reminder to all of us males, that prostrate cancer affects 1 of 6 men. One new case occurs every 2.5 minutes and a man dies from prostate cancer every 19 minutes.

The disease is preventable with annual screenings for all of us men over 50. You can read an FAQ here to learn more.

Thank you, Dan for the beautiful music.


Dan singing Leader of the Band

 


Run for the Roses

2 responses to “Dan Fogelberg

  1. I was so saddened by this. He really was the soundtrack of my 20s. Oddly, unlike many of his contemporaries, I didn’t continue to listen to him, didn’t replace the albums with tapes and then CDs. How foolish of me. I had read that he was very ill, that his cancer was caught late, so I wasn’t surprised, just very sad.

    First, I think I will buy Souvenirs, on which he collaborated with Glenn Frey, Don Henley & Graham Nash, but it was “Run for the Roses” that I couldn’t get out of my head last week. When The Oldest was a baby, he was fussy, requiring a great deal of attention and one of the things that could always (well, almost always) soothe him would be to play that song and hold him, singing along and dancing.

    And it’s run for the roses
    As fast as you can
    Your fate is delivered
    Your moment’s at hand
    It’s the chance of a lifetime
    In a lifetime of chance
    And it’s high time you joined
    In the dance
    It’s high time you joined
    In the dance —

    Thanks for posting the videos. He really was extraordinary.

  2. I play “Run for the Roses a Lot” as Kentucky Derby Day approaches. It often brings tears to my eyes.

    I may have mentioned this in my post, but my favorite is Dan’s collaboration with Tim Weisberg (I did mention it) on Twin Sons of Different Mothers. They do an amazing cover of Since You Asked, a Joan Baez song, I believe.

Leave a Reply

