Top 25

Below is a listing of the Top 25 songs played on my iPod. As you can tell, I enjoy a lot of those oldies and goodies from the 60s and 70s. Since I frequently work alone as a software consultant, I have the luxury of listening to music of my choice all day long.

Of all these, today at least, my favorite of the bunch is Warm Ways (5), which to me, is simply a “warming” type song. The Eagles tune, Ol’ 55, written by Tom Waits would be a close second. Music has a way of linking me to memories, usually pleasant ones. Ol’ 55 reminds me of my days following graduate school at West Virginia University, driving home to Ohio from Morgantown at six in the morning.

And it’s six in the morning, gave me no warning; I had to be on my way.
Well there’s trucks all a-passing me, and the lights are all flashing,
I’m on my way home from your place.

— Tom Waits

1 Year of the Cat
Al Stewart
2 A Whiter Shade of Pale
Procol Harum
3 Ol’ 55
Eagles
4 Baby I’m Yours
Barbara Lewis
5 Warm Ways
Fleetwood Mac
6 Baby I Need Your Loving
Four Tops
7 Hello Stranger
Barbara Lewis
8 Dreams
Fleetwood Mac
9 Do What You Want, Be What You Are
Hall & Oates
10 Stranger On the Shore
Mr. Acker Bilk
11 Try A Little Tenderness
Otis Redding
12 All Day Music
War
13 Duke Of Earl
Gene Chandler
14 Jackie Blue
Ozark Mountain Daredevils
15 Wild Horses
The Rolling Stones
16 Sweet Love
Anita Baker
17 Bus Stop
The Hollies
18 Going Out Of My Head
Little Anthony And The Imperials
19 What’s Going On
Marvin Gaye
20 Angel
Sarah McLachlan
21 Europa [Earth’s Cry Heaven’s Smile]
Santana
22 Oh How Happy
Shades Of Blue
23 Sentimental Lady
Bob Welch
24 Help Me
Joni Mitchell
25 Who’s Crying Now
Journey

What songs bring back good memories for you? What kind of music do you enjoy? Feel welcome to add you comments below.

5 responses to “Top 25

  1. the album which Tom Waits had ol 55 on, closing time, is fantastic!! Martha and Grapefruit Moon are both amazing!

  2. You have good taste in music, Neal! I wouldn’t mind listening to these myself.

  3. Ah go on, Catty! Listen to a few good old tunes.

  4. 1 Year of the Cat – Al Stewart (Memories of living in a duplex in Trenton, NJ with my family — on a warm sunny day).

    2 A Whiter Shade of Pale -Procol Harum (Late Fall/Early Winter — Memories of heading to get pumpkins from a Oriental grocery store in Newtown, PA)

    3 Ol’ 55 — Eagles (I don’t think I know this song)

    4 Baby I’m Yours – Barbara Lewis (Back to the house in Trenton with my family)

    5 Warm Ways – Fleetwood Mac (Another song I’m not sure of)

    6 Baby I Need Your Loving – Four Tops (Trenton again – some great memories again)

    7 Hello Stranger – Barbara Lewis (Another song I’m not sure of)

    8 Dreams – Fleetwood Mac (Mercerville, NJ this time. One of my sisters had to do a project for school and used this song)

    9 Do What You Want, Be What You Are – Hall & Oates (Another song I’m not sure of, but I like Hall & Oates)

    10 Stranger On the Shore – Mr. Acker Bilk (another one I don’t know)

    11 Try A Little Tenderness – Otis Redding (Loved this song when it was used in the movie “Heaven Help Us” — really funny movie)

    12 All Day Music – War (another one I don’t know)

    13 Duke Of Earl-Gene Chandler (Memory of me and my mom going somewhere and singing this song together, great memory)

    14 Jackie Blue-Ozark Mountain Daredevils (Love this song)

    15 Wild Horses-The Rolling Stones (probably one of the only songs I like from the Rolling Stones)

    16 Sweet Love-Anita Baker (good song, hear it on the Jazz station all the time)

    17 Bus Stop-The Hollies (Memories of rainy days and being stuck indoors, listening to this song. Good song).

    18 Going Out Of My Head-Little Anthony And The Imperials (another good song)

    19 What’s Going On-Marvin Gaye (great song, great memories from when we were in Trenton)

    20 Angel-Sarah McLachlan (Love this sad song. Gets me crying when I hear it.)

    21 Europa [Earth’s Cry Heaven’s Smile]- Santana (Nope, don’t know this one)

    22 Oh How Happy-Shades Of Blue (another good song and memories from the Trenton house)

    23 Sentimental Lady-Bob Welch (good song, with memories or roaming around Mercerville)

    24 Help Me-Joni Mitchell (nout sure if I’ve heard this one)

    25 Who’s Crying Now-Journey (Fantastic song and great memories of being at a shorehouse in Beach Haven, NJ)

    Thanks for the stroll down memory lane. Now I’ve got several songs fighting to stay in my head.

  5. Pick out one of those songs fighting in your head, Patti. Sing it while driving. As you mentioned, it certainly does help with the road rage. People won’t think you’re crazy anymore because they won’t even notice; they’ll all be talking on their cell phones. Yapping at the top of their lungs.

Leave a Reply

