Road Trip

Last Tuesday, I began a road trip, leaving Cincinnati for a 469 mile through the mountains of West Virginia to Charlotte, North Carolina.  I’ve been pretty stressed out recently, truly needing a break, and looking forward to eight hours of pretty scenery and nothing to do but listen to the car radio and iPod touch.

After finishing a training and consulting project in Charlotte on Friday afternoon, I packed the car and headed east for the Swan Quarter Ferry to Ocracoke Island.  Since the ferry didn’t leave until 9:30am on Saturday, I drove as far as Washington, NC (population 9,800) on Friday night, and completed the foggy trip early Saturday morning.

Since that time, I’ve slowed way down to Ocracoke “island time.”  Letting the world slowly pass by while watching the waves on the beach.  Ocracoke is at the southern tip of Cape Hatteras National Seashore and a small fishing and tourist village reachable only by boat.

This area is one of my favorite places in the world, and sitting on these beaches refreshes me and makes me feel whole again.  I’ve note been here in over five years and have truly missed being here.

Here’s a couple pictures of Ocracoke.

Ocracoke Light Station

Ocracoke Light Station. Build in 1823

Sunset on the Beach (Ocracoke, NC)

Sunset on the Beach (Ocracoke, NC)

2 responses to “Road Trip

  1. I hope you are rested and refreshed. We all need those occasional retreats from life, especially lately.

  2. The “Road Trip” was important to me as well as refreshing and relaxing. The Outer Banks is one of my favorite places to be, as I love the beauty and quiet of this place. I need to do this more often.

Leave a Reply

