More From Hatteras

Enjoy a few more pictures from my journey to Cape Hatteras, North Carolina.  The lighthouse pictured is Bodie Island Lighthouse, which has protected the dangerous waters around Cape Hatteras for 136 years.  It first shone on October 1, 1872.

Bodie Island Lighthouse

Bodie Island Lighthouse

This area is a special and sacred place for me.  I have loved it here since I first visited Cape Hatteras back in 1972, arriving here in a VW bus with long hair and all.  I hadn’t realized how much I missed being here, having not traveled to the Cape for five years.  The ocean breeze and the beauty of the area make me feel whole and at peace.

a haven for migrating birds

Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge: a haven for migrating birds

Shipwreck from the 1800's

Shipwreck from the 1800's

3 responses to “More From Hatteras

  1. Cool pictures! I don’t think I’ve gotten to the beaches between Virginia Beach and Daytona or even north into New England.

  2. Hi Neal, I came by way of Catty. Your photos are lovely. Glad you got to enjoy and find some peace. I’m lucky enough to live 10 minutes from Fire Island. The beach shot at sunset looks exactly like Robert Moses State Park. Beautiful.

  3. Thanks for the kind words, Nutsy. It’s easy to take great photos in such a beautiful and peaceful location. Look for more in the next several days.

Leave a Reply

