Photos From Cape Hatteras

Here’s a few more photos from my Road Trip to the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, North Carolina.

Along the National Seashore

Along the National Seashore

The Outer Banks are a series of barrier islands, a very fragile environment.  Note the proximity of the two beachfront houses to the surf.  Beach erosion has moved more than 40 feet of beach.

Seaside at Buxton, NC

Seaside at Buxton, NC

Sandpipers

Sandpipers

Colorful end to another wonderful day

Colorful end to another wonderful day

Cape Hatteras Light protects "The Graveyard of the Atlantic"

Cape Hatteras Light protects "The Graveyard of the Atlantic"

6 responses to “Photos From Cape Hatteras

  1. goodtimepolitics

    I’m down here near Ocean Isle beach and always wanted to go to the Outer Banks but never have. Good pictures! Maybe one day I can go see the area! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures. This is truly a beautiful place, one of my favorites.

  3. What lovely photos! For years, I wondered why people lived on the hurricane-prone Outer Banks. Then I visited, and discovered the why! You captured a bit of that “why” here. Thanks!

  4. People live there because they enjoy the quiet life of the Outer Banks. Or they were born and raised there and it’s home. I’ve frequently fantasized moving there, but it’s a long jump from the suburbs of Cincinnati.

  5. Really nice pictures Neal. I hope you found some peace.

  6. Good photos, I like them really…

    I will be there on the Island in a few months, I have written and article about Hatteras Island and shared some pics.Actually I am working on another article about Cape Hatteras & Buxton.Soon it’ll be ready.Here you could see my article:

    http://www.mytripolog.com/2009/04/hatteras-island-north-carolinas-outer-banks/

Leave a Reply

