Almost Heaven

The trip home from Cape Hatteras to Cincinnati took me through Norfolk, Richmond, Charlottesville, Virginia.  Travelling Interstate 64, I stopped overnight in the beautiful town of Lewisburg, West Virginia.  The next morning found me on US Route 60, the Midland Trail, a beautiful two lane highway winding through the mountains and down into the Kanawha River Valley and Charleston, WV.

Roadside Scenery

Roadside Scenery along Route 60

There are places along the Midland Trail where I swore I could see my tail lights in my mirror as I wound through one of those mountaineous curves.  But getting off the Interstate (I-64), is the only way to really enjoy the beauty of The Mountain State.

Glen Ferris, West Virginia

Glen Ferris, West Virginia

Many of you already know that I spent the first ten years of my life growing up in the great state of West Virginia and am proud to be an alumnus of West Virginia University (Let’s Gooooo Mountaineers).  I’ve sung John Denver’s Country Roads about a million times.  When I stopped at the New River Gorge, I once again became a believer that West Virginia truly is “almost heaven.”  I highly recommend a stop at the Canyon Rim Visitors Center for a view similar to the one below.

New River Gorge from near the bridge

New River Gorge from near the bridge

Amazing Span of the New River Bridge (US 19)

Amazing Span of the New River Bridge (US 19)

2 responses to “Almost Heaven

  1. I’m trying to talk Honey into some day trips but he has become anti-car. He wants to fly or stay home. I guess that is what mothers are for. She likes road trips. We did Skyline Drive but these pictures are prodding me into explorer mode.

  2. Makes my heart swell.

Leave a Reply

